God’s Favourtism

Which of you, if your son asks for bread, will give him a stone? Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake?  If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him! Matthew 7:9-11

As a parent I know that some days its just easier to lavish affection on one or some of my offspring than others. The one who says “yes Mom, I’ll take out the trash” or “Mom, can I get you a coffee?” or “Mom, shall we spend the morning together today? We haven’t had a lot of time together lately”. Conversely, the one who says “Why should I empty the dishwasher, its not my job”, or “I’ll tidy my room later, I’m busy now” or “I don’t want to help my little brother get dressed” is a little harder to heap praise and rewards upon. Do I love them any less? No. But what I don’t want to do is reward disobedience. What I don’t want is to have to explain myself in detail every time I ask them to the smallest thing for the good of the family.

I deeply feel our Father is the same. He doesn’t love us any less in disobedience, but our obedience means we can live in His favour. We obey and we win His trust. We obey and we win His favour. We obey and He knows He can trust us in ever greater things.

And this is love: that we walk in obedience to his commands. As you have heard from the beginning, his command is that you walk in love. John 1:6

How much more straightforward is life when the people under your authority, be they parishioners,  employees or family members, have the level of love for you, and hence trust in you, to just say “Sure” when you ask them to carry out a simple task without having to have a debate about it?

Today, if anyone in authority asks you do carry out a task just say “yes” and walk in favour. And more, if the Holy Spirit prompts you to undertake a task for Lord, why not skip the analysis and do it in prompt obedience and make it easy for Him to favour you.

 

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

