What Do We Want? Everything! When Do We Want It? Now!

Last week my little boy, who’s 5, sauntered past me as I did some correspondence, as usual draped on the sofa, balancing my laptop on a cushion.

He was carrying his big brother’s external drive, wires dragging behind him.

“Where are you off to with that Son” I enquired.

“To my room” he said somewhat matter of factly given the circumstances I thought.

“And why are you taking that?” I enquired.

“I want it” he said plainly.

“Why?” I felt this was a reasonable question seeing as a) He’s 5 b) He doesn’t have a laptop and c) It wasn’t his

“Its a DVD player, and I want it”

I will spare you the rest of the conversation. It was was difficult to explain that  it wasn’t a dvd player, although it played dvd’s and he knew it. He has a DVD player – I explained this of course but he countered this one was smaller and cooler. I finally trumped with “Its not yours, its your brother’s”. Needless to say, he wasn’t happy, but he gave up. Or so I thought.

Hours later, on our our way to do some shopping, he suddenly burst into tears…

“I want the DVD player!” accompanied by sniffles and tears.

Again I will spare you the details of all my explaining that it wasnt a DVD player, and that He Already Has a DVD player…

Eventually, frustrated trying to explain yet again, I appealed to the Lord “Give me the patience not to lose my patience please Lord!”

and this is the reponse I had from the Lord in my heart…

How do you think it is for me? This is what you all seem to do! You see something you think you want, and even thought you don’t know why the other person has it, what purpose it serves in their life, you want it too! Even though if you just opened your minds and hearts you would see you already have what you need, and in fact what you want, right now!

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

